MAOGCC Annual Meeting

JUNE 13-14, 2022

Join us for the Annual Meeting of the Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties on June 13th-14th, 2022 in Billings, Montana. We have speakers lined up that will provide information that will be of interest to all.

A room block is available at the Northern Hotel in Billings—just mention the “Montana Association of Oil, Gas, And Coal Counties” room block when you call to make a reservation.  The reservation desk at the Northern Hotel can be reached at 406-867-6767. To receive the discounted room rate for the annual meeting, please make your reservation at the Northern prior to Wednesday, June 1st, 2022. 

Please call Shelby at 406-660-1969 if you have any questions pertaining to registration for the conference. The draft agenda is posted below. 

Register by using the form below 

The registration form below has multiple steps. Your registration will not be submitted until you submit your payment information on the last step. If you would like to register for the meeting, but prefer not to do so online, please call Shelby at 406-660-1969 for assistance.

Scroll down to view the meeting agenda and more!


Location: The Northern Hotel, 19 North Broadway, Billings, MT

03:00 PM – Exxon Facility Tour

05:00 PM – Dinner
Dinner will be provided by MAOGCC at The Nothern Hotel in the Babcock Room

06:00 PM – Michael Freeman, Natural Resource Policy Advisor
Michael Freeman joined the Gianforte Administration from the Department of the Interior, where he was appointed to serve as Acting Deputy Solicitor for Water Resources and before that, as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and Environmental Management. In addition to a short stint in the private sector, he spent nearly seven years on Capitol Hill advising members of Congress on energy, environmental, and natural resource policy issues. He began his career as an attorney in the Office of the General Counsel at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. He is a native of Butte, MT.

Location: The Northern Hotel, 19 North 
Broadway, Billings, MT

07:00 AM – Breakfast on your own

08:00 AM – Meeting Call to Order
Roll Call


08:05 AM – Consent Items

Review of Previous Meeting Minutes

08:15 AM – Financial Items
Dues report

Financial statements

08:30 AM – Action Items
Bylaw changes

Board Member Elections
Future Meeting Locations

08:45 AM – Discussion Items
Chairman’s Update: Commissioner Richard Dunbar

Executive Director Update: Shelby DeMars


09:00 AM – Ben Jones—Petroleum Engineer, Montana Board of Oil & Gas 
Ben Jones, a petroleum engineer for nearly 15 years, brings experience from both the private and public sectors and currently serves as the petroleum engineer and technical advisor for the Montana Board of Oil and Gas Conservation (MBOGC), which administers the Montana oil and gas conservation laws; promotes conservation and prevents waste in the recovery of resources; and regulates oil and gas exploration and production. Ben will be providing an annual update form the Board of Oil & Gas on production over the past year.

09:15 AM – Chris Puyear—NorthWestern Energy
Chris Puyear serves as a Government Affairs Specialist for NorthWestern energy where he advocates for policies to secure affordable, sustainable power for NorthWestern’s 340,000 customers. Chris will be presenting an update on NWE’s newest projects and the impact of recent court rulings.

09:30 AM – Chris Bakker—CEO, Avanti Energy
Chris will be presenting on Avanti Energy, their helium development efforts in Montana and elsewhere, as well as the “how” and “why” behind helium development.

10:30 AM – Jon P. Heroux—Corporate Counsel, External Affairs for Westmoreland Mining, LLC
Jon will be joining the conference to provide an update on the regulatory environment and permitting updates with Westmoreland.

11:00 AM – Terry Johnson—Economist, Statistician, Former Montana Legislature Financial Analyst
Terry Johnson served the state of Montana for almost 40 years as an economist, statistician, and most recently as principal financial analyst for the Montana Legislature. Johnson earned a B.S. in mathematics from Montana State University and developed expertise in economic analysis and government finance. In July 2004 he became the first Montanan to receive a national award from the National Council of State Legislatures in recognition of his achievements in revenue forecasting, state fiscal and tax policy analysis. Terry will be presenting a program he has designed to assess the impact that potential legislative tax changes can have on local governments.

11:30 AM – Darryl James—Montana Infrastructure Coalition
Darryl James is the Executive Director of the Montana Infrastructure Coalition, or MIC, which is comprised of volunteer members representing over 100 industry, labor, and trade associations, local governments and business entities. The purpose of the Coalition is to provide reliable information to state and local decision-makers and their constituents regarding the need for infrastructure investment, and to explore economically and politically sustainable methods of funding critical infrastructure in the future.

12:00 PM – Adjourn

Thank you to our past Annual Meeting Sponsors!


Click here to view the 2017 MAOGCC Annual Meeting Minutes (were voted on and approved at the 2018 Annual Meeting)

Click here to view the 2016 MAOGCC Annual Meeting Minutes (were voted on and approved at the 2017 Annual Meeting)

Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties. 1820 N Last Chance Gulch. Helena, MT 59601.